Home > Uncategorized > Thinking About Whitney

Thinking About Whitney

I started this after Whitney died and never finished it. Since today is her birthday, I decided to tackle it, hopefully without too many tears.

 

It’s been over a month since Whitney Elizabeth Houston died. This celebrity death has lingered with me much more than any other. Since I was born in 1986 with the first name of Whitney, there was no way that I could escape her presence. But I didn’t grow up with her music. I was barely cognizant of current-day music until 94 or 95. Whitney wasn’t what was played in the house unless a song came up on the rotation on WDAS while my mom was cooking or cleaning.

But the later Whitney I embraced, and I was thrilled to hear her live at Mann Music Center on tour for the My Love is your Love album. And I of course dug into her entire catalog.

More than the music and her immaculate voice, the later Whitney is the one that I wrestle with in my thoughts. Her sureness of her relationship with Jesus despite the turmoil & challenges is one that helps me understand that I am worthy too no matter what’s gone on I’m my life. I feel surprising envy for that type of relationship with God and Whitney’s talk about hers helps me better understand what my mom talks about when she calls me every Sunday.

That sense that I am enough, flaws and all is what I see in Whitney in her later interviews. Embracing what she evolved into and living fully in that present. Something that I am not currently doing in my own life. The gift and talent that was her voice and making use of the talents and gifts that you have is the other thing that listening to old Whitney records brings to the forefront. It makes me question myself, am I doing enough with my gifts and talents?

I listen to her music and strive to get better and embrace my whole self and to be enough as I am.

 

Happy Birthday Whitney. Rest in everlasting peace.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

